The Day the Crayons Quit

#1 New York Times Bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestselling author & illustrator Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit

  • The #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon — over 100 weeks on the bestseller list!
  • Featured in TIME’s list of “The 100 Best Children’s Books of All Time”
  • "Fresh and funny." The Wall Street Journal
  • "Utterly original." San Francisco Chronicle
  • Amazon's 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
  • A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013
  • Goodreads' 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
  • "Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike." BCCB, starred review
  • "Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights." Booklist
  • "This book will have children asking to have it read again and again." Library Media Connection
  • "This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime." School Library Journal, starred review
  • "These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes." Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Day the Crayons Came Home

I'm not sure what it is about this kid Duncan, but his crayons sure are a colorful bunch of characters! Having soothed the hurt feelings of one group who threatened to quit, Duncan now faces a whole new group of crayons asking to be rescued. From Maroon Crayon, who was lost beneath the sofa cushions and then broken in two after Dad sat on him; to poor Turquoise, whose head is now stuck to one of Duncan's stinky socks after they both ended up in the dryer together; to Pea Green, who knows darn well that no kid likes peas and who ran away—each and every crayon has a woeful tale to tell and a plea to be brought home to the crayon box. Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers have combined to create a companion book every bit as funny and kid-friendly as the #1 bestselling The Day the Crayons Quit.

Praise for The Day the Crayons Came Home

  • "Once again, Daywalt and Jeffers create rich emotional lives and personalities for their colorful cast, and it’s hard to imagine a reader who won’t be delighted." Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • "A masterwork of humor and design...Sure to be as popular as The Day the Crayons Quit" Booklist, starred review
  • "The highly anticipated (yes, even for adults) sequel to The Day the Crayons Quit, written by the quirky Drew Daywalt and hilariously illustrated by Oliver Jeffers" Entertainment Weekly
  • "Comical...Mixed-media illustrations, done with crayons and photographic postcards, introduce lively new scenery and brilliant characters...This new cast of crayons will entertain readers, and admirers of the first book will be pleased to see a few familiar colors." Kirkus Reviews

The Crayons' Book of Colors

The crayons are back and brighter than ever in this board book of colors from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best Sellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

It’s Duncan’s birthday, and all the crayons want to make him a card! With their fun and quirky illustrations of firetrucks, dragons, and (dare we say?) wheat, these creative crayons each have something different to contribute. When they come together, they can make something truly spectacular to celebrate Duncan’s birthday!

From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home, comes a fun board book introducing young readers to colors.

The Crayons' Book of Numbers

Counting is as easy as 1… 2… purple?… in this charming book of numbers from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best Sellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

Poor Duncan can’t catch a break! First, his crayons go on strike. Then, they come back home.

Now his favorite colors are missing once again! Can you count up all the crayons that are missing from his box? From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home comes a colorful board book introducing young readers to numbers.